RSS

Pinay Biyahera Wannabe

05 Dec

I haven’t been to many places in the Philippines. The farthest I got was Mindoro in Puerto Galera beach twice. Once, when I was 28 and second when I was around 29 or 30. My emotional ailment prevented me from enjoying the first one but I thank my friend Belle for forcing me out of my coccoon. Her efforts were very much appreciated.

The second time was when my friend came over for a one-month vacation from Dubai. Feeling much better than before, I did have two days of fun.

I have also been to Baguio twice. Once when I was about five years old, I had the opportunity to spend time with some Igorots. Don’t be surprised if I can still remember that. I just do 😀 Remembering stuff is both a blessing and a curse. I went back with some friends when I was also about 30 years old I think. So not long ago. I still want to go back but I need to plan it out.

Our Real, Quezon trip had been wonderful (I’ll tell you more about each of these trips in my next posts with pictures. Yep, still have them). I was with Belle again and another friend. We went on a more than five-hour hike before we got to the summit and spent time with NPAs. My friend insisted they are NPAs so…cool! 😀

Tagaytay is so close to Manila and I have been there several times already but since it’s another popular tourist spot, I’ll include that in my list of trips hoping you would envy me (not possible :D).

My most recent was Naga City, Bicol. Oh! Now, that’s the farthest I got! It took us eight hours to get there. I didn’t mind because I like long drives while listening to music and sightseeing. That’s my friend Belle’s hometown so it didn’t matter much to her. To me, it was awesome! But that trip was not what I expected. Naga is a fairly small city with few places worth seeing. Everybody spoke Bicolano dialect and it gave me a headache trying to figure out what they were talking about.

We went to this ice cream parlor which owner was a Chinese woman. She spoke fluent Tagalog and fluent Bicolano!. Seriously, I find that very amusing my jaw dropped the moment she opened my mouth. She had no idea I was from Manila and didn’t get a thing she said. Everytime she looked at me for approval, I just give her a nod and a smile.

I want to create separate posts for these trips just for the sake of my ego. This would make me think I am a bona fide biyahera and inspire me to go out and explore more without excuses.

So until the next post. 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 5, 2014 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
