RSS

Today, We Celebrate My Niece’s Birthday

26 Jan
Taken during our trip to Blue Lagoon in Ilocos Norte

Taken during our trip to Blue Lagoon in Ilocos Norte. Love this picture! 🙂

People often mistake me and my niece as a mom and daughter tandem because we have similar gait. Some of my long-lost friends would also ask me if I finally got married and have a kid. “No, I haven’t married yet but yes, I already have a daughter. I just let my sister conceive,” I would say.

Seven years ago, some time in December, my sister and I spent most of the time thinking of a name for a baby girl. “Okay, since my chances of becoming is really slim, I would give you my supposed future baby girl’s name — Helena.” If I would have a baby boy, I would want to call him Lourd Anthony. Oh, I love those names! My sister doesn’t, of course. There were so many suggestions, mostly Indian-inspired. We wanted it to sound like a goddess. Since my sister had quite a bad taste, I picked out a few: Minerva, Shiva, Indira and other funny names. The rest I forgot. Indira means beautiful in Indian, so we decided she would be called Indira.

Evidently, the name fits. That baby grew up to be one beautiful child I have ever seen, next to my late sister Josephine. Indira and Josephine actually have some resemblance. Maybe, Indira is Josephine’s reincarnation. 😀 And not only is Indira beautiful, she is also smart and eloquent. Ask her to dance or sing and she would take on the stage without batting an eyelash.

That angelic face though does not always come off as Divine. Because she is smart, she talks a lot and opposes even my mom, tells her daddy to go find a work, and fend for herself when no adult is around to assist her in preparing her snack (rice, by the way. That explains why she’s dense). She can be a devil when not in the mood, too. But I love her so much. The kind of daughter I wish having is my late sister but Indira would pass for an extraordinary choice as well.

And I dedicate this post to her. I love you so much, baby! 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 26, 2015 in Family

 

Leave a Reply

 
